top of page

About Us


Film festivals are the merging points of the National and International Cinema. It’s an arena where noteworthy films from across the globe are screened.  Film festivals in India had its origin in the year 1952 at Delhi. In the subsequent years, film festivals were conducted in other cities, especially during 1990s. The film festivals were regionalized and localized from the year 2000 onwards. 


The International Film Festival of Thrissur (IFFT) is a joint venture of Thrissur Janasamskara Chalachitra Kendram, Corporation of Thrissur, Thrissur Jilla Panchayath, Banerji Memorial Club and K.W. Joseph Memorial & St. Thomas College, Thrissur, with the patronage and active involvement of film connoisseurs of the city of Thrissur and neighbouring suburbs, Federation of Film Societies of India (FFSI), other government bodies and the business community.  The first edition of International Film Festival of Thrissur (IFFT) was launched in the year in 2004 with the support of Thrissur Corporation. IFFT has the unique distinction of being the second longest running film festival in Kerala, held under the aegis of Chalachitra Kendram, a film society.  IFFT has successfully conducted 18 editions so far, with the prime focus on bringing the best in contemporary and classic cinema, both at the national and international levels, to its audiences and the development of a vibrant film culture. 

Organising Committee Chief Patrons

* V. Muraleedharan Minister of State for External Affairs,GoI

* K Rajan Minister for Revenue and Housing GoK

* K Radhakrishnan Minister for Welfare of SC, ST &BC and Devaswoms,GoK

* Dr. R Bindu Minister for Higher Education and Social Justice GoK

* M K Varghese Mayor-Thrissur Corporation

* T N Pratapan MP

* Suresh Gopi MP

* P K Davis President, Thrissur Jilla Panchayath


* M K Varghese - Mayor Thrissur Corporation

* Shaji N Karun, Chairman KSFDC

* Ranjith,Chairman Kerala Chalachitra Academy

* Chelavoor Venu, Vice President-FFSI 

* T Krishnan Unni, Chairman-Orange Film Academy

* V K Joseph,Secretary-FFSI

* Dr. CN Parameswaran

C P John Former Member-Planning Board

PV Unnikrishnan, Former Member-Planning Board

* Mohan Paul Kattookkaran Jos Alukkas

* Igny Mathew

* Dr. K Gopinathan

* E J Joseph,Kattapana FS

* Prakash Sreedhar, Moovatupuzha FS

* P K Jayan ,Chartered Accountant

* T L Santhosh

Organising Committee Chairman & patron

General Convener

* P Balachandran MLA

* K Rajan Minister For Revenue,GoK

Vice Chairpersons

* Rajasree Gopan  ( Deputy Mayor )         
*  Rajan J Pallan - (Opp.Leader.corp)   
* Varghese Kandamkulathy Swapna     
*  John Daniel Chairman,Standing Comm. Thrissur Corporation   
*  KV Saju –Jilla Panchayath Member
* VS Prince – Jilla Panchayath Member
* Surjith – Jilla Panchayath Member
* P K Shajan

Festival Directorate

Joint Director

Artistic Director

* Premendra  Manzumder

* K B Venu

* P.N.Gopikrishanan

* Secretary , FFSI

Artistic Director

Executive Director


Legal Advisor

* P.N.Gopikrishanan

* Cherian Joseph

* A Radhakrishnan

* Adv.Bhagathsingh

Joint Directors

* D Ashtamoorthy

* Dr.C S Biju

* Adv.AY Khalid

* Paul Jose Kattookkaran

Deputy Directors

Joint Conveners

* Dr.Roshny Swapna

* Balagopalan K.N

* Cherian E George

* Surendran K G

* Joffee Jos Chettupuzhakkaran

* Shylesh P D

Kittan P K

Sajeerbabu V S

Naveen V B

Manish V Arikkat





Dr.Aravindan Vallachira


Mohanakrishnan V



KB Venu



bottom of page